January 2021

Blog Archive - February 2021

3 February 2021

I’ve been flat out with some home renovation over the last month, and I still have another full month at least before things start to get back to normal. As a result, it’s been difficult to spend any time updating this website. I’ve had to abandon some special projects for the moment.

But I had a good ‘book moment’ today. I recently ordered Alexis de Tocqueville’s Democracy in America from Amazon and was given a delivery date sometime between the end of February and the middle of March. Instead, my package turned up today. Given my current commitments, it’s another special project that will have to wait, but it sure is nice getting a new book early. I first thought of reading it when I read Willy Russell’s play, Educating Rita, probably over twenty years ago. It’s one of the books Rita reads as part of her ‘education’. Having finished The Federalist Papers last year, and with all the discussion about the state of American democracy after the end of the Trump presidency, it reminded me that I had once intended to read this book.

Now I have it. I’ll get to reading it eventually!

- bikerbuddy

22 February 2021

This is Karl, my new bookcart. He’s named after a favourite booktuber.

I brought him home on Saturday and have been playing with the best way to set him up. Currently I’ve got my current reads and other books I want to read soon on the top shelf, along with my e-reader, reading glasses, some bookmarks and a few other supplies. Second shelf has a water bottle, tissues, books that I’ve recently finished and need to reshelve (and review, of course) and a notebook for my German lessons. Bottom shelf is currently unused and might just become a hang out for my cat.

Everything I need to read in comfort stored in one moveable cart. I’m looking forward to a long and happy relationship with Karl.

- Toriaz

March 2103